Why AA Couldn’t Keep Me Sober

But it wasn’t a TOTAL waste of time (and energy and tears)…

Intuitive Amanda
4 min readJun 20, 2022
Am I an alcoholic? Does AA work? Is Alcoholics Anonymous a cult?
Photo by Vaughan Willis on Unsplash

I’ve been a rule-breaker (or at least a bender) my entire life. I tend to “cherry pick” the best bits of books, programs, classes, and advice. And then move on.

As my mother always used to say…

Take the best and leave the rest!

Life’s too short to follow blindly, am I right? But for some reason, I had a hell of a time doing that when it came to dropping the bottle. I just kept trying the same old way to get sober.

Chances are pretty good that you already know I’m talking about Alcoholics Anonymous. After all, I haven’t exactly kept my thoughts on AA and its lack of effectiveness (for me, at least) a secret.

I can genuinely say I tried my hardest to follow the AA mandate. I dumped out all of my booze and pill bottles. I got a sponsor. I followed the steps. I went to at least a meeting every day. I fellowshipped with other alcoholics.

--

--

Intuitive Amanda

Love & Relationships Psychic 💖 Evidential Psychic Medium 👻 Pro Psychic Mentor 🔮 intuitiveamanda.com